This Open Road

A season walking southbound on the Appalachian Trail

Pennsylvania (But First, a Half Marathon in Yosemite!)

Dear Reader, I finished my southbound thru-hike of the Appalachian Trail on January 19, 2016! I hiked 2,189 miles from Katahdin to Springer in just under six months. I did not mean to leave you hanging, but I found it increasingly difficult to keep up with the blog, conduct my online lessons and do everything I needed to do in town (laundry, resupply, rest, talk to people at home, etc.) and still hike. At the end of October I suspended my online lessons until January, and decided I would catch up on the blog when I finished the trail.

I knew that I would need to stay as focused as possible in order to finish the trail before it got too cold. As it turned out, it was a fairly mild fall and winter. I had some cold days, but not as intense as I expected and not cold enough to force me off the trail.

The Appalachian Trail is so much a part of my life and who I am. To have been able to hike it three times is a blessing and something I’ll always treasure. I’ve walked northbound (1998), section hiked (2010/2011), and now, hiked southbound. (I also began a thru-hike in 1994, going almost 700 miles before stopping.) Writing about this journey after I completed it will allow me to process what transpired, relive it and share the experience with you. Thank you for your patience.

* * * * * *

At the end of January 2015, shortly after I returned from Japan, and before I made my plans to hike the A.T. again, I committed to run the inaugural Yosemite Half Marathon with my good friend, Jannele. Some people from her job were forming a group and she invited me to join them. It took me about five seconds to make a decision. I was ready to train for another race, I’d never been to Yosemite, and I would get to spend time with Jannele, whom I’d not seen in several years.

Later, I realized a thru-hike was possible and although I’d have to leave the trail for a few days to go to the race, I decided to do it all. It would be an adventure within an adventure and I was ready for it.

20151004_134842

Back on the trail… After crossing into Pennsylvania, I walked to the Church of the Mountain Hiker Hostel in Delaware Water Gap, a hostel that has been serving hikers since the mid-70s. It’s located in the basement of the church, and has a bunkroom, shower and common area for hikers to use. One aspect of a southbound thru-hike, is that there are very few hikers still around at this time of year. The northbounders have long passed through Pennsylvania and most southbounders are well into Virginia. There was only one other hiker staying at the hostel when I was there. This was where I would leave the trail for the next nine days.

20151005_140448

20151005_140407

20151005_140518

Getting from the Appalachian Mountains to the Sierras was not as complicated as I expected. From the hostel, I walked about a mile to the bus station, took a bus into NYC, then a shuttle to the Newark airport, flew to Kansas City (by way of Atlanta), was met by Jannele and spent the night at her house. The next morning we flew from KC to Fresno, CA (via Phoenix) and drove a rental car to Oakhurst which is the nearest major town closest to Yosemite.

IMG953026

The weekend was wonderful. It was fantastic to spend that time with one of my dearest friends, whom I’ve known since college. Ours is a friendship built on ease and gentle camaraderie. We can be talkative and we can be quiet. Our shared history, respect for each other and mutual sense of humor create the foundation of our relationship. And we both like to run.

Yosemite National Park was absolutely more astounding than I imagined. Even after seeing many pictures of iconic features such as Half Dome and El Capitan, I was still amazed by the magnitude and grandeur of it all.

20151009_122124

 

20151009_141515

 

20151010_180832

We both ran better than we expected. The morning was cool, the course wound down a curvy, tree-lined road and we glided easily toward the finish line. I had not run since mid-July, and was a little concerned about how I’d do. To my advantage, I had strong hiker legs and that helped me maintain my sub-two hour goal for half marathons (I finished in 1:53:02).

20151010_094156

Jannele also did really well, but we both paid for our efforts after the race. By the end of race day we could hardly walk. I had made plans to visit my family in Colorado after the race and I was glad for the rest days. It took several days before I felt normal again.

After the race weekend, I did all of the flying activity in reverse. By the time I was back on the trail nine days later, I’d been on 10 flights due to the stopovers each flight entailed. Not complicated, it just required organization, timeliness and a little luck (only one flight was late in this whole itinerary).

Finally, I was back in Delaware Water Gap ready to resume my walk south. I stayed another night at the church hostel, got a shuttle to Wind Gap and started hiking. It was a chilly morning and it was the first time I really knew the rest of the hike would be a race against winter.

20151017_093320

Back on the trail at Wind Gap.

 

6 responses to “Pennsylvania (But First, a Half Marathon in Yosemite!)

  1. Karissa Barlow February 1, 2016 at 7:16 am

    Hi Robyn! Congratulations on another successful hike and a half-marathon! I enjoy reading about your adventures and getting inspired to create my own. It’s too bad we haven’t met in person but I hope our trails cross someday! Last time I wrote, I was teaching with Westgate at Meijo University, reaching out to a fellow Coloradan with more experience than myself. I met my husband in Nagoya and now we live in his home country of Brazil. The adventures continue! :) I’m reaching out once again, this time for some advice on online teaching. I’m looking for something flexible and part-time to supplement my income. I already teach Brazilian students online using Skype but would like to work for a company that can find the students for me and provide materials. I’d appreciate any info or tips you can provide! And if you ever find yourself in Brazil, make sure to look me up. Happy hiking, happy teaching, and happy travels! -Karissa

    • Robyn February 2, 2016 at 9:03 am

      Hi Karissa!
      Thanks so much for getting in touch and thank you for your kind words. :)
      I’ll send you an email to answer your question in more detail.
      Best, R

  2. swridgerunner February 1, 2016 at 6:35 am

    Congratulations Robyn on your third AT hike. Amazing what you were able to do all in 6 months!

  3. brickthomas January 31, 2016 at 7:19 pm

    Congrats, Robyn, on the hike and the run. What I love about your AT hike this year is how it was woven into the other things that make you who you are. That’s admirable, inspirational and just plain cool! Best wishes. Brick

Leave a Reply

