This Open Road

A season walking southbound on the Appalachian Trail

A Farewell to Tokyo and 2014

I began this year in Japan and I’ll end this year in Japan.

After leaving Tokyo in January of 2014, I was in Colorado for a couple of weeks, then moved to Laramie, Wyoming, where I lived and worked online for a few months. Then I backpacked the Colorado Trail from Denver to Salida before returning to my parents’ house to regroup to return to Japan for my fifth term. Is this normal? For me it is.

My life in Tokyo has been great and I’ve been very content this year. I revisited favorite places, made new friends, and enjoyed all that Tokyo has to offer. Here are a few highlight of the last few weeks.

Happy New Year!

Tokyo National Museum.

Tokyo National Museum.

A visit to the Tokyo Government Buildings. My last visit was two years ago.

Tokyo Government Buildings. My last visit was two years ago.

IMG_7324

IMG_7325

 

A walk through Ueno Park with Renu and Laura…

IMG_7070

Shadowwalk.

IMG_7071

Renu, Laura and Tokyo Skytree.

Piano bar. Tokyo night life with Laura, Kirsty and Renu.

Piano bar. Tokyo night life with Laura, Kirsty and Renu.

 

Okonomiyaki with Laura. The beginning.

Okonomiyaki with Laura in Kanda. The beginning.

Midway.

Midway.

Won and done. Full.

Won and done. And full.

IMG_7212

At the N3331 Cafe.

IMG_7214

The cafe is in between two train tracks.

 

Laura and I took two tours on the Tokyo Skybus: one to Odaiba and another around Tokyo to view the illuminations. Unfortunately, these pics were lost in the new-camera stage. But this was the bus we took.

IMG_7286

IMG_7342

Tokyo Tower.

 

A visit to Yokohama…

IMG_7361

A day out with Kate.

Yokohama skyline.

Yokohama skyline.

IMG_7395

The last pic of 2014. Yokohama.

See you soon, 2015!

8 responses to “A Farewell to Tokyo and 2014

  1. Mike January 4, 2015 at 11:48 am

    Hi Robyn.

    Happy New year!!!! I’m glad to see you’re enjoying your time in Japan. I don’t know if you remember me but last year you answered some questions about Japan… and then I taught at Westgate for a semester when you were not there. ^^ Anyway I just had one last question…. Is there any way I can send you a private message to ask you?

    • Robyn January 4, 2015 at 12:35 pm

      Hi Mike,
      Thanks for getting in touch. I hope you had a good experience teaching. Sure, you can contact me at my email address: rcrispe @ gmail (dot) com.
      Happy New Year to you also!

  2. Joella J January 3, 2015 at 1:57 am

    Happy New Year! Do you think you will go back to Japan again? I’m actually visiting for the first time later this year- can’t wait!

    • Robyn January 3, 2015 at 1:24 pm

      Hi and Happy New Year!
      I actually have about 3 1/2 wks left to soak up all I love about Japan. Hard to say if I’ll return. The plan is to stay stateside for the foreseeable future. I think you’ll love it here!

  3. Uncle Dan January 1, 2015 at 1:23 am

    What an adventure you are living…………………..

  4. brickthomas January 1, 2015 at 12:45 am

    What a great year, Robin. I wish you equal happiness in 2015.

Leave a Reply

