This Open Road

A season walking southbound on the Appalachian Trail

Living and Running Around Adachi-ku

Life has been good! My lack of posts have been more to do with new-camera issues than with lack of material. So we start where we are.

Tokyo is a-mazing! Bright lights big city in all its crazy glory. I love every bit of it. I’ll keep saying it: Sometimes I cannot believe I live here.

And then there are the suburbs. Where regular people live normal lives, exercise, catch the train, buy their groceries, ride their bikes, go to 7-11 for sushi and white bread egg sandwiches. (They’re not bad.)

This post is about my daily life. I run, I take the train to work, I walk to the store. I live in Adachi-ku, which is in the far northern reaches of Tokyo. Not Tokyo Tokyo (bright lights big city), but still Tokyo. I’d love to be a real author just so that on the book jacket it would say, “Robyn divides her time between Tokyo, the Appalachian Trail and Colorado.” Now I just need to be a real author.

 

My Leopalace apartment. Same floor plan that I've had for the past five terms.

My Leopalace apartment. Same floor plan that I’ve had for the past five terms.

The houses across the street with their front yard gardens.

The houses across the street with their front yard gardens.

The street behind my apartment.

The street behind my apartment.

A shrine in my neighborhood.

The road I walk to the local grocery store.

The road I walk to the grocery store.

IMG_6917

Kita-Ayase. This is my train station and the last stop on the Chioda Line.

Kita-Ayase. My train station and the last stop on the Chiyoda Line.

*

I’m still running four days a week: Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday, Sunday. I love it and it’s what keeps me grounded and happy. On Tuesday and Thursday I’m usually running by 6:15, on the weekend, a bit later.

There is a river nearby with a path. On my way back I can see Tokyo Skytree and Mt. Fuji. (They’re too far away for my camera to capture their images).

IMG_6912

IMG_6895

Stairs leading to the bridge that crosses the river.

IMG_6896

There are a group of retired people that I usually see in the mornings at this spot. They always wave and say "Ohayou gozaimasu!"

There is a group of retired people that I usually see in the mornings at this spot. They always wave and say “Ohayou gozaimasu!” (“Good morning!”)

IMG_6906

Proof.

Proof.

A late fall morning.

A late fall morning.

I usually see this man at this road construction site when I run in the mornings. Today he smiled and shook his head in that better-you-than-me kind of way. On my way back we attempted a short chat which ended with this photo.

I usually see this man at this road construction site when I run in the mornings. On this day he smiled and shook his head in that better-you-than-me kind of way. On my way back we attempted a short chat which ended with this photo.

Another local shrine.

Another local shrine.

IMG_6903

Life in my neighborhood is quiet. I feel safe, secure and content. I could not ask for more.

IMG_7202

12 responses to “Living and Running Around Adachi-ku

  1. Radley March 15, 2016 at 11:19 pm

    Very cool blog! I am moving to Tokyo and staying with my in-laws in Adachi for a year! My wife and I are expecting in June and we have decided to spend the early years of raising our baby in Japan before returning to Vancouver.

    I have a website: http://www.tokyorad.com which I will be documenting my experiences in Japan :)

  2. Aisha Shuaib March 4, 2015 at 4:33 am

    Hi Robyn! Sorry to disturb u :D actually I’ve been looking a way on how to get there in Adachiku from narita airport. I hope u could help me? Either we could take bus going to any bus station there in adachiku or train, to any train station there from narita? Thank you so much :)

  3. tokyo5 December 26, 2014 at 12:11 pm

    >A shrine in my neighborhood.

    That’s a cemetery, by the way. Japanese cemeteries are behind shrines (not every shrine has a cemetery though.)

    • Robyn December 26, 2014 at 3:53 pm

      Yes, thank you for the clarification. I should have been more specific.
      Also, the pic was taken from a side view – that is the shrine in the background.

  4. TonyJ2 December 24, 2014 at 5:41 pm

    Looks quite peaceful. Great to have the bike path along the river side.

  5. Robyn December 21, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    Thanks you guys. Yep, it’s so incredibly clean. It’s rare to see any trash. People are very conscientious about the environment.
    See you all soon!

  6. Dad December 21, 2014 at 1:22 pm

    Hey Robo–great line for a book jacket. Sounds like a good start on actually being an a author. Note to Uncle Dan: a Japanese dude would probably think Conifer/Aspen Park is exotic :-).

  7. Carylon December 21, 2014 at 5:03 am

    What always blows my mind is how clean everything is – no trash laying on the streets or roads. Happy running trails to you pretty girl!!! Love ya!

  8. Uncle Dan December 21, 2014 at 2:15 am

    You sure are making me miss my running days, and I didn’t live in any exotic places…………………

Leave a Reply

