This Open Road

A season walking southbound on the Appalachian Trail

A Last Look At Laramie

Today is my last full day living in Laramie, Wyoming. It’s been a good season being in a new place and working from home. But I’m ready to be out and about again. A road trip is coming up, another marathon, a trek on the Colorado Trail and then on to Japan! I love it and am excited to be on the move. In the next few days, KRC and I are going to explore a corner of South Dakota and northern Wyoming. I have three states left to visit and then I’ll have been to all 50. (North Dakota and Mississippi will be my final states after this trip. There’s not enough time to tag ND this time.)

Today I was thinking, what happened here, in these last few months? There were no big epiphanies. (I’m still living out past epiphanies.) I was content. I worked from home so I didn’t get to know many people other than those at businesses that I frequented. (I see KRC when she comes up for visits, of course.) I never thought about it unless someone asked me if I’d made friends here. I enjoyed running, working with my students online, visiting campus, walking around the neighborhoods, and living my life. I am deeply content within myself (but restless for the road!) and that remained so during my time here.

* * * * *

A photo-summary of recent weeks in Laramie:

My safe and cozy home for the last few months.

My safe and cozy home for the last few months, full of old-fashioned character.

When the lights come down, that means it's time to move on...

But when the lights come down, it’s moving time.

IMG_6284

Such a funny, quirky building.

Such a funny, quirky apartment building.

 

Downtown…

Fish murals downtown.

Fish murals.

IMG_6167

 

Around the neighborhood…

Blog6_28_14

The decline of the poor Wyo.

That cool church on the corner.

The cool church on the corner.

IMG_6134

IMG_6125

 

Old Main at the University of Wyoming…

Old Main.

IMG_6118

"Wyoming University."

“Wyoming University.”

IMG_6114

 

Evening on the bridge…

Garfield St. Bridge.

Garfield St. Bridge.

Trains under the bridge.

 

Streets of Laramie…

Historic downtown.

Historic downtown.

IMG_6148

IMG_6141

 

Music at Coal Creek Coffee Co.

Coffee house music - Feeding Frenzy from Fairbanks, AK.

Feeding Frenzy from Fairbanks, AK.

 

Laramie Jubilee Days, celebrating Wyoming’s statehood…

Carnival view from the bridge.

Carnival view from the bridge.

The Ferris wheel of a small town carnival.

Small town carnival Ferris wheel.

And some final words of wisdom from the West…

IMG_6222

Always ride high in the saddle!

Souvenir from KRC after meeting Colter at the rodeo.

8 responses to “A Last Look At Laramie

  1. Elizabeth Hall August 30, 2014 at 10:10 pm

    Hi, Robyn! I met you in Sapporo last summer, and you told me about Westgate! I’ll be doing my first term with them this fall – so excited and kind of nervous. I hope to run into you somewhere!

    • Robyn August 31, 2014 at 8:23 am

      Hi Elizabeth!
      It’s great to hear from you! Congratulations on working for Westgate! I’ll be there again too, so I’m sure we’ll see each other – at least at orientation. Thank you so much for getting in touch and I’ll see you soon! :)

  2. Carylon August 2, 2014 at 12:19 pm

    I love living vicariously through your blogs. I’ve even ran marathons – through you – I don’t run!!! Keep up the good work. Now – on to new and old ventures for new chapters in your book of life. Hugs Pretty Girl!!! Love ya!

  3. Uncle Dan August 2, 2014 at 12:07 pm

    What a great post. One of your best (and they are all good). Enjoy your travels — hope we get to see you before you leave for Japan.

    • Robyn August 3, 2014 at 8:26 pm

      Thank you! I’m on the road now – we saw Crazy Horse today – amazing display and story. Well worth the trip. Mt. Rushmore tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

