This Open Road

A season walking southbound on the Appalachian Trail

Summer Days

So much has been happening! The summer has been good and the pace is starting to pick up. I have exciting goals that keep me energized and focused every day.

Last weekend was really fun. My sister and niece came for a visit and it was great to spend time with them. They come to Colorado every summer to go camping with our parents in their RV. I couldn’t join them for the camping trip due to teaching obligations, but it was awesome to see them for a couple of days.

Sister, me and niece (making an important call, apparently.)

My sister, me and my niece (making an important call, apparently).

 

I also ran the Sand Creek Half Marathon in Denver on Saturday. I was so glad to have my dad and good friend, Chris, there to cheer me on. It was a great boost to have them at the start and along the route yelling for me. I didn’t do as well as I usually do in half marathons, but still finished under two hours and recovered quickly. This half was a bit of a pep rally for the full marathon which I’ll run next weekend.

 

Running

I’m enjoying the tapering part of my training, gradually easing up on the long weekend runs these last couple of weeks. Yesterday I ran an easy eight-miler and today I went on a two-hour hike on the trails east of Laramie. I’ve pushed this training and may not be as ready for the marathon as I could be, but I’m excited and up for the challenge. There are many training schedules online for all race distances and I’ve been following this one. I felt that I could have followed the plan for the Intermediate 1, but since I was already cutting it close, I opted for Novice 2. (For other plans on this site, click on the “Training” link at the top of the website and select the race you’re interested in.)

Whatever the outcome of next week’s race, you’ll get the full report right here. :)

 

High plains training terrain.

* * * * *

Somewhat related to running/going places, I got my new passport this week! The last time I looked all dreamy-eyed at a new passport was 10 years ago when my friend Jan and I were getting ready for our trek in Nepal. I remember thinking, I’m going to fill up this little blue book so much. Besides our trip to Nepal, I was sure I’d find time to return to the UK (the reason for my first passport and my first solo international destination when I was in college), and explore other European countries. Instead, my old passport is filled with stamps and visas from Colombia, Bolivia, India (just stopovers en route to and from Kathmandu), China and multiple trips to Japan.

 

Good to go for another 10 years!

Good to go for another 10 years!

 

I don’t know when passports began to have microchips embedded, but they do now. The pages are actually interesting, with depictions of historical events from U.S. history and quotations from various people.

 

From the early days of our country...

From the early days of our country…

...to an era of space travel.

…to an era of space travel.

 

Just as I did 10 years ago, I intend to fill this passport with stamps from countries I’ve never been to and at least one that is quite familiar to me now – Japan. This fall, I’ll be returning for a fifth term and my sixth working for Westgate. (I’ve been teaching for them through their E-learning program while living in Laramie.)

* * * * *

Speaking of Laramie, my time here is almost over! If you’ve followed this blog for the last several months, you know what a positive experience it has been. But I love movement and thrive on change, and it’s time to get going again! Already I’ve been packing up, purging (actually, there’s not much left to purge – it’s just maintenance now), giving things away and preparing for the next phase. The transition between gigs energizes me so much. I love wrapping up the last experience, organizing and prepping for the next one. I still have two more weeks of online teaching, a marathon to run, a short road trip with KRC to South Dakota (Mt. Rushmore) and northern Wyoming (Devil’s Tower), and a backpacking trip in Colorado! (More on that later.)

To be continued…

* * * * *

Travel as much as you can.

My thoughts, exactly.

12 responses to “Summer Days

  1. Mom July 30, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    The successful marathon has come and gone (and what a LONG drive it was!). It’s Robyn’s story to tell, of course, but I’m just glad that her dad and I were privileged to share it with her. We were her support team, and (ahem) I was her photographer.

  2. Angela July 23, 2014 at 3:16 pm

    I love passports. Good luck on the marathon. I know you’ll do great!!

  3. brickthomas July 23, 2014 at 12:23 am

    Good luck on the marathon Robyn and happy travels.

  4. Dad July 22, 2014 at 8:19 pm

    Good pic of U, A & K. Makes me wonder how many good photos are trapped in “devices” or suspended in cyberspace that nobody will ever see. I’m glad this one made it to publication. We’re looking forward to the race weekend :

  5. Uncle Dan July 21, 2014 at 9:44 am

    Check out Crazy Horse too………………..

  6. kari July 20, 2014 at 9:57 pm

    that is me with my arms up in our convertible going to S dakota! Yee haw!

  7. Robyn July 20, 2014 at 9:32 pm

    Also, this is my 200th post on This Open Road. Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

