This Open Road

A season walking southbound on the Appalachian Trail

My Homes Away From Home

During this last month in Sucre,Bolivia, I’ve stayed at three different places. They were all recommended, via word of mouth, Trip Advisor, HostelWorld and/or my Lonely Planet guidebook.

I started with the Casa Verde Bed and Breakfast. This is a lovely place tucked away on a narrow street (ok, they’re all narrow) a few blocks from the main plaza. I had my own room with a private bath with hot water (which I hear can be rare in Bolivia, but I haven’t had a problem yet), good Internet connection, a nice breakfast, bottled water (shouldn’t drink the tap water), use of the kitchen after breakfast, a small lap pool and a nice courtyard.

Casa Verde B&B.

Casa Verde B&B.

The street outside of the Casa. It gets busy during the week.

The street outside of the Casa. It gets busy during the week.

(more photos can be seen in this earlier post.)

I stayed at the Casa for six nights then moved to a “home-stay” arranged by the Sucre Spanish School for their students.

A doctor and his wife own a large house a block from the school and students can stay with them while they’re taking classes. For about $12/day (paid in Bolivian currency) they provide breakfast and lunch and private rooms. Students eat with Freddy and his wife and practice Spanish. Freddy can speak English but his wife speaks only a little. They are very sweet and enjoy hosting students from all over the world. I stayed with them for two nights and really enjoyed my time there. However, I didn’t feel my Spanish was good enough to participate effectively in the conversations. I also wanted a little more privacy and a more dependable Internet connection. Katie moved there while I was at Casa Verde and is still living with them.

Freddy, his wife and Katie.

Freddy, his wife and Katie.

2-Sucre 151

The home-stay home.

My next home was at the wonderful Casa al Tronco, which is a hostel located high on the hill beyond the Recoleta. Although there were a few inconveniences, this is my new favorite hostel anywhere, even ousting my former favorite in Colorado, the Crested Butte International Hostel (although it’s a close second).

The path to the right leads beyond the Recoleta and to the hostel.

The path to the right leads beyond the Recoleta and to the hostel.

I was there for only four nights because: it was a long uphill walk from town, which was fine, since it was great exercise, but made going about my daily tasks somewhat tedious; my room was on the third floor and the bathroom was on the first; no drinking water was provided, so I had to remember to haul bottled water up; the Internet connection went out for three days and I rely on it. Shocking, I know, but I have this blog and…

For a few days, I didn’t mind, because for $11 a night, I enjoyed this:

Entrance to the hostel.

Entrance to the hostel.

My 3rd floor room. It was perfect for me.

My 3rd floor room. It was perfect for me.

View from the bed.

View from the bed.

Kitchen on 3rd floor, across from my room.

Kitchen on the 3rd floor, across from my room.

Well-stocked kitchen.

Well-supplied kitchen.

Patio off of the kitchen.

Patio off of the kitchen.

Living room area for guests.

Living room area for guests.

Dining room.

Dining room.

Ebo (from Germany), the proprietor. He and his Bolivian wife have owned the hostel for 13 years.

Ebo (from Germany), the proprietor. He and his Bolivian wife have owned the hostel for 13 years.

Ebo's wife, Tania; son, Basti (and Sica-sica the dog).

Ebo’s wife, Tania; son, Basti and Sica-sica the dog.

*

As much as I loved this hostel, it was easier to be closer to the center of Sucre. And I loved Casa Verde just as much. So I made arrangements to return (same room) and I’ve been here for the last three weeks. Since I’m here for an extended time, I get a discount and pay about $16.50/night. I’ll stay for one more week, then I depart for La Paz where I’ll stay for two days before flying home.

1-No Snow 001

Sunday afternoon in the courtyard at Casa Verde.

4 responses to “My Homes Away From Home

  1. Aunt Carylon February 26, 2013 at 12:47 pm

    Those are some beautiful buildings. What an incredible journey you are on! Hugs!!!

  2. Christine Walderhaug February 25, 2013 at 10:08 pm

    So cool! Each place looks like it’s great in its own way. I love traveling vicariously through you. thanks for sharing!

    What date are you back in CO?

    Chris

Leave a Reply

