This Open Road

A season walking southbound on the Appalachian Trail

It’s Sushi Tuesday…on Thursday

In keeping with our new tradition of not keeping tradition, and despite my last sentence in this post, Hannah and I enjoyed Sushi Tuesday in Irumashi tonight, Thursday…in Tokorozawa, where we live. But we did have sushi! I suggested that as long as we hit one of the three variables, we’re doing fine: Sushi, and/or Tuesday, and/or Irumashi. Better all three, but we do what we can.

Sushi night.

We decided to skip going out on Tuesday because we had our evaluations on Wednesday, and we wanted to focus on our preparations and not be distracted. It seemed a little early to be observed, as it’s only the third week of the term, but I was also glad to have it over with. And it was painless and helpful. Our Program Coordinator sat in on one of our classes to see how we were doing. We both still have our jobs, so I think we did okay. :)

Wednesday night we were feeling tired from the day, so we delayed getting sushi until tonight. There’s a sushi vendor at the Irumashi train station, so we chose a couple of items for take out.

Another tradition we began last week is Coffee Friday! It’s a fun way to mark the end of the week and gives us something to look forward to on Thursday night. We leave a little earlier and go to Doutor Coffee, which is also at the Irumashi station (and over 900 other locations around Japan).

Coffee Friday at Doutor.

I like ritual and have a few that are important to me: having coffee and sitting in the early morning quiet every day while I wake up, and running four days a week (Tue/Thur/Sat/Sun) for an hour, are a couple that I’ve maintained for years.

Even though we’re in exotic, crazy, fun, endless, glamorous Japan, we’re still in a working routine that is becoming increasingly routine as the weeks run into each other. I’m not complaining – I’m so fortunate to be working here – routine and all. But having a couple of fun things to do during the week helps keep the week even more interesting than it already is.

2 responses to “It’s Sushi Tuesday…on Thursday

  1. Robyn October 12, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    I know you like that place – I still need to go there sometime! xo

  2. Mom October 12, 2012 at 12:35 am

    I have an idea. Why don’t we start a similar tradition when you get back home? Like going to my favorite restaurant here in town, Sakura, obviously Japanese. I imagine it is a bit more expensive here than there.

Leave a Reply

